That’s correct. The counter will always start at 1 for new sites and be remembered in the app for existing sites. If you lose your data or install on a new device, adding the site back will start you off at 1 again. To recover a lost non-default counter, just increment the counter and try the password on the site until you succeed.
You can also use an export file from the app on another device or keep one as a backup.